MFC – My Fried Chicken – 2

DSCF4126I have been playing with my fried chicken recipe for quite some time now and a couple months ago I came up with this. We have been eating my fried chicken every week since then and we still love it. It makes fantastic wings too! We are now convinced that I have the proportions for my chicken dredge just perfect. We love it. We will never eat at KFC again.

This is not a deep fried type of recipe nor is it truly a pan fried recipe. I only pan fry the meat for a few minutes because we like the skin extra crispy. The rest of the time it goes in the oven. I try to avoid deep frying any foods and I succeed really well. I also try to keep my pan frying to a minimum so I’ve learned to sear foods and then bake them or pop them in the slow cooker instead. Saves me a lot of worry about how many transfats I am causing to be released with my cooking choices. When I do fry I use an appropriate oil, such as avocado oil, and keep the temp well below the smoke point. I know a lot of you fry things in butter but that’s just not how I cook ๐Ÿ™‚

MFC aka My Fried Chicken – 2

cooking oil <I use avocado oil>

1/4 C almond flour

1/4 C powdered parmesan cheese

1/8 C fajita seasoning

1 Tbsp dried basil

DSCF4120First grab a ziplock bag, quart size if doing only small pieces or a gallon size if doing larger pieces. Dump in all the dry ingredients and mix well. Be sure toย  smoosh out any lumps. Drop in the chicken one piece at a time and shake to get it well coated. Add the oil to a hot pan and swirl to coat the pan well.DSCF4122 Add the chicken, skin side down. I used avocado oil.

Brown the chicken a bit on both sides then lay it on a baking pan that is foil lined and has a rack in it to elevate the chicken. The foil makes it a lot easier for the cleanup and we all know how much I love washing the dishes. Using the rack allows the air to circulate freely so you don’t have to flip the chicken half way through the bake time. I use my cookie cooling rack as it fits my pan just fine. Bake at 350F for 1 1/2 hours. If you are doing only wings or drumsticks you should bake it for just 1 hour.

This makes enough dredge for 1/2 of a chicken, cut up.ย  If it’s too spicy for you just cut the fajita seasoning amount in half.

I cannot tell you how much we love this chicken. It’s really easy to go over board lol. This also freezes well for reheating later in the microwave or chilling to take on a picnic. Yes, it is even good cold ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a happy!
TT

This entry was posted in Low Carb, Meats, Phase 2, Recipes, Seasonings & Sauces and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MFC – My Fried Chicken – 2

  1. veezybell says:

    Aha, almond flour!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

