Oven Roasted Asparagus – 1

I grew up on a farm in central Ohio where my mother grew many vegetables. She loved them. Me, not so much. Looking back I now realize that I love veges also, I just don’t like them boiled and she tended to boil most of them. There was a huge asparagus bed that I wish I had now. If only I had known <sigh>.

When I first bought some fresh asparagus a few weeks ago, my intention was to try a recipe  for cheesy asparagus that I had found on facebook. We didn’t like it but I will post that recipe in a few days, I just need to get permission to use a friends pic to go with it since I won’t be making it again.

Today’s recipe is very simple, very quick and supremely tasty. My husband is not a fan of asparagus. At least he wasn’t until I roasted them in the oven. He now thinks of them as snack food. Enough of the babbling, let’s get on to the food shall we.

Oven Roasted Asparagus – 1

fresh asparagus

butter or olive oil

minced garlic

IMG_20160308_185713This only takes about 5 minutes to put together. First you want to preheat your oven to 400F. Now grab a baking sheet and cover it with foil for easy cleanup after. I see no reason to scrub on a pan if I don’t have to.  After your pan is covered, grab your asparagus and trim off the cut end to avoid getting any of the woody part. I usually trim off 1 to 1.5 inches. Now place the asparagus on the foil covered pan in a single layer and quite close together. In a small microwave safe bowl, melt at least a tablespoon of butter. If you plan to use olive oil instead you can skip the melting part and just put the oil in the small bowl. Add in a clove or more of minced garlic and stir. Drizzle the garlic mixture over the asparagus then pop the pan into the oven. Bake it for 15 minutes. Serve immediately for a crunchy yummy side dish or a lovely snack 😀

I really hope that you enjoy this as much as we do.

Have a happy!
TT

 

This entry was posted in Low Carb, Phase 1, Recipes, Snacks, Vegan, Veges and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

