Cold Seafood Salad – 1

IMG_20160806_130710Today I am cooking multiple things as I recently went shopping but I am only sharing one new recipe. While I used fake crab meat for mine you can use shrimp, crab or lobster if you prefer. I love a good crab salad but I don’t like a lot of the crap other people tend to put in it so I have to make my own to be really happy. I love recipes like this since you can easily add or remove ingredients to suit your own preferences.

You need to prep this a few hours early or it will taste rather bland. The flavors need some time to ripen. I usually make it a day ahead of time. My hubby does not like seafood salad at all so this is a treat for me not to have to compromise on how I make it 😉

For those of you wondering why I chose some of the ingredients:

  • fake crab versus real crab – real crab is too expensive for my budget. I would only use real crab if we had gone crabbing.
  • celery seed versus fresh celery – I do NOT like celery but I don’t object to using it as a seasoning. Usually I use diced celery tops but I don’t have any right now.
  • dried onion flake versus fresh onion – fresh onion is too strong for a cold salad in my opinion but I do like a touch of onion flavor. The dried onion is much milder.

This recipe makes 4 servings.

Seafood Salad – 1

1 lb cooked seafood <I used fake crab meat>

4 hard boiled eggs

4 or 5 good sized mushrooms, sliced

2 Tbsp butter

2 oz shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 C mayo

1/2 C ranch dressing

1/2 tsp each of tarragon, celery seed and basil

1 tsp dried onion flake

IMG_20160805_081615

Melt the butter in a skillet over a medium to high heat. Slice the mushrooms and toss them in the melted butter. Fry the mushroom slices until they are lightly browned on both sides. Drain off any excess butter and chill.

 

 

IMG_20160806_125701

Once the mushrooms are chilled grab a mixing bowl. Break up the cooked seafood, chop the hard boiled eggs and then dump in all the other ingredients. Mix thoroughly. Serve cold on a bed of lettuce, as a lettuce wrap or in a small bowl with a fork.

 

 

This is a pretty versatile recipe so play with it.

Have a happy!
TT

This entry was posted in Low Carb, Meats, Phase 1, Recipes, Salads and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold Seafood Salad – 1

Leave a Reply

