Beast Pizza – 4

IMG_20230112_210918Not counting pepperoni this is my favoritest pizza ever and hubby agrees. This pizza was inspired by a cheesesteak sandwich. No, there is no cheese whiz on it, get over yourselves. I’ve made it with thinly sliced roast beef lunchmeat and it’s good that way but using leftovers from a real roast is way better so you might have to plan ahead for this one unless you already have the roast waiting. This pizza is also good using leftover roast chicken instead of beef but the beef version is still our favorite.

Beast Pizza – 4

leftover roast beef

pizza crust

alfredo sauce

sliced mushrooms

diced onions

sliced provolone cheese

sliced swiss cheese

diced bell peppers <opitional>

Assuming you have the beast handy and the crust made already …

First you spread on a layer of the alfredo sauce. If you prefer a thin crust like we do then don’t use too much sauce or the crust will end up soggy. And no it doesn’t matter what kind of crust you use, they all get soggy with too much alfredo sauce.

The next layer is the beast. Shred and spread to make yourself happy. Not enough beast is a waste and too much beast can weigh down the crust and make it floppy when you go to pick it up.

After the beast goes on we add the vege. Hubby does not like mushroom or onion on his half of the pizza but if I use a light hand he’s ok with it for this particular pizza. I however adore both the mushrooms and onions and prefer a nice thick layer of vege on my half. I used purple onions this time. This is where you add the bell peppers if you want them.

IMG_20230112_201915IMG_20230112_202454IMG_20230112_203053

As you can see by the pics, my half is on the left.

The last layer is the cheese. I buy the provolone presliced but the swiss here is cheaper in the block so I slice it myself. For the provolone I stack the slices then cut the stack in half, combine the stacks and cut them in quarters. I try to slice the swiss as thin as the provolone is then I stack the slices and cut them into chunks roughly the same length as the provolone pieces. I lay out one of the cheeses using a clock pattern, making as many rings of cheese as the crust size will hold then I fill in the gaps with the other cheese. The pics show a 16 inch crust.

IMG_20230112_203315IMG_20230112_203831

Yes, there is shredded mozarella on his half, he likes it that way, I don’t. No matter what kind of pizza I make he insists on the moz. He’s weird that way.

Bake in a 400F oven until the crust is lightly bowned or, if you’re like me, until the cheese starts to brown which takes 3 or 4 minutes longer. I love it when the cheese is browned too.

I always make pizzas 3 at a time, 1 to eat and 2 to freeze for later.

**** To freeze an already cooked pizza simply let it cool and slice it how you want. I use a dinner plate as my form and cover it with a piece of waxed paper then lay out half of the pizza so it does not hang over the plate edges. Then I add another piece of waxed paper and lay out the other half of the pizza. Cover it with a final layer of waxed paper, grab a 1 gallon freezer bag and carefully slide the paper wrapped pizza from the plate into the bag. Smush out the air, make sure the edge of the waxed paper is tucked inside the bag and seal it up.

I do it this way because I have no way to freeze a whole pizza but I always have 1 gallon freezer bags handy. I have no idea how long you can freeze it for as mine never stays in there more than a month.

Have a happy!

TT

This entry was posted in Cooking Tips, Phase 4, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment